The age of Soaquarian, the age of So-a-quar-i-an…

These aren't the weblogs you're looking for…move along.

I should vote for you, because…

Posted by soaquarian on Saturday, August 23, 2008

Please, please, please, someone explain why I should vote for John McCain. Use small words and short sentences, you know, cause I’m dim. Oh, and this is the tricksy part, do it in a way that doesn’t make me think you are racist or stupid as soon as you are done. That’s all I ask. Sad as it is, those are the two things I think when someone tells me they are voting for McCain. I know which one it is (if not both) after they tell me why (for some reason, they always have to tell me why).

The house thing, meh, significant only in that it’s a little hypocritical. Gonna hurt the McCain campaign, but it really is a minor issue; if you aren’t calling another less-rich but pretty well-off guy an elitist.  Oops. Keep in mind, I have issues understanding the whole thing because I don’t think I know of anyone who has a family corporation or a wife with that much property, and I bet you don’t either.  I guess I set my sights too low when I got married, you know, finding someone I love before checking her investments.

In case you don’t know, John McCain doesn’t understand what it is like for you. Well, if you live in a world of family corporations, investment properties, and staff to do the shit jobs, like laundry and the dishes, he might. He cooks for photo ops, and if he got fired, divorced again, or doesn’t become president, would spend the rest of his life trying to figure out ways to spend his money. And he would fail, because his family corporation is good at what it does, so he won’t run out of money. Same thing for his kids. Twenty or thirty years from now, a McCain will again be in office, possibly running for president while, unfortunately, mine is likely getting his soul crushed working for the man. McCain will be just fine if he loses. So will Obama.

My concern, and it should be yours too, is how everybody else will be, not the 1-2% of Americans who can relate to owning million dollar houses. As an aside, I think Cindy should run. She seems gracious, smart, competent, decisive, and is easy on the eyes. That is who McCain needs to put up for his VP, drug issues aside. She just needs to smile, and explain what happened; that always works.

The more I watch the stuff coming from McCain’s camp, the more I am sure that I do not want to vote for him, though he pretty much lost me when I saw him hug George W. Bush. You know, the guy behind the stuff in South Carolina. And then McCain uses the guy who designed that campaign as an adviser. Politics may make for strange bedfellows, but it shouldn’t mean you automatically spread ’em and smile to win. The end never justifies the means.

Quick question: Do they not know about the Internet in the McCain HQ, or do they count on the ignorance of their supporters to blindly jump on any quasi-logical explanation to not vote for a black man? You know, a reason they can tell their friends, family, co-workers, and themselves so they don’t have to think they are acting racist.

If they would just come out and say, ‘I have given it a lot of thought, and I, as a white person, am afraid that if Obama gets elected, he will pursue a pro-African-American agenda at my, a white person’s, expense.’ I could deal with it. They would be verbalizing the real fear of many white people at the coming demographic changes. I think it is a limited viewpoint, but it would be an honest viewpoint, and, from honesty, we can get to understanding. Failing to acknowledge the very real uncertainties faced by white persons in this country as they slowly become the minority will extend racism. Look at stormfront.org if you don’t believe me.

Why do I think Republicans pander to racists. Hint, If you call Obama little black man-child, I think you’re are acting racist; if you say he’s Muslim or a closet terrorist, I think you’re a sneaky racist. Racists, please! I am convinced that if it meant you could get dollar a gallon gas until we figure out the energy thing, most people would vote for Yasser Arafat for president. And he’s dead.

Bonus pandering prediction: Look for Bridget McCain on the stage at the Republican convention. I’m 50-50 on whether she will have “school conflicts” or just be in the background, tastefully anonymous amid the ‘big-tent’ token minorities arranged on the stage. Hopefully I’m wrong because McCain and the RNC isn’t pandering to the racist  demographic in our country. I hope I am wrong, Bridget deserves better than that, the McCain family deserves better than that, and America deserves better than that, but I don’t think I will be.

Please, whoever you vote for, at least have a fact-based (not sound bite) reason for voting for them. Vote for someone, not against anyone. If you don’t like your candidate, vote for the person you would vote for, or don’t vote. It’s the only way the system gets better.

Obama people, you too. You liberal bastids are just as bad as the conservatives. As John Scalzi says, Obama, does not, in fact, fart cinnamon-scented rainbows.

One Response to “I should vote for you, because…”

  1. […] This was the one that got me started in the first place writing this piece. Dear God, Republicans are losing the racist vote, unheard of since the Dixiecrats defected to the Republican Party. On the bright side, at least he still has this guy. Oh, the guy says it’s not political, it’s just racist. Well, there’s something to be said for honesty. I guess the dog whistles can’t be heard over the sucking sound from his campaign and my 401 (k). It reminds me of this post, where I predicted economics uber alles. […]

Leave a Reply

 
